350 HS students to compete at 2007 MA Envirothon May 10

Submitted by Diane Baedeker Petit
2007-04-30 13:43:56

More than 350 Bay State high school students from some 60 public and private schools across the commonwealth are expected to compete in the 20th annual Massachusetts Envirothon on Thursday, May 10th at Mount Wachusett Community College in Gardner, Mass.
At this outdoor event, teams of five students rotate through four “eco-stations” where they demonstrate their environmental knowledge through hands-on activities such as soil analysis and plant identification. Each team also gives a presentation on their research into the year’s designated current issue. This year’s current issue is “Energy Conservation and Renewable Energy for Massachusetts Communities.”
Teams prepare for the Envirothon throughout the year through classroom curricula and workshops. Teams research the current issue in their own community prior to the competition. Many teams also compete for Community Research and Community Service awards.
“It’s a great experience for students to represent their school or organization in a statewide competition testing their knowledge of aquatics, forestry, soils, wildlife, and current environmental issues,” said Mass. Envirothon Committee Chair Tom Anderson of the Massachusetts Executive Office of Environmental Affairs.
“As an innovator in renewable energy systems, Mount Wachusett Community College is thrilled to host the 20th Envirothon,” said Mount Wachusett Community College President Daniel M. Asquino. “Encouraging today’s youth to think of innovative ways to improve our environment is vital to the future of our planet. They, along with our Natural Resources Technology students, are the Commonwealth’s aspiring environmental stewards.”
“The Envirothon is America's leading natural resource education program for high school students,” said Christine S. Clarke, Massachusetts State Conservationist for the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, whose agency is one of 15 federal and state environmental agencies, conservation districts, non-profit organizations, educational institutions, and businesses involved in organizing the event.
Judges for the competition include more than 60 environmental professionals from government agencies, non-profit organizations, academia and private industry.
The 2007 Massachusetts Envirothon is made possible with the financial support of corporate sponsors National Grid, Genzyme and Houghton Mifflin, and grants from the Massachusetts Technology Collaborative and the U.S. Forest Service.
The Envirothon program originated in 1979 in Pennsylvania as the Environmental Olympics. In 1988 the name was changed to the Envirothon and the program was expanded to a national program. Massachusetts held its first competitive event in May 1988 with five teams participating. The winning team from each state has the opportunity to represent their state in the Canon Envirothon, the North American competition.
For more information on the Massachusetts Envirothon visit
Massachusetts Envirothon 2007 - REGISTERED TEAMS as of 3/19/2007
Please note that some teams may drop out and other teams may be added before the event.
4-H Bristol County
Acton-Boxborough Regional H.S.
Ashland H.S.
Austin Prepatory School
BMC Durfee H.S.
Barnstable H.S.
Bedford H.S.
Belchertown H.S.
Bristol County Agricultural H.S.
Cambridge Rindge & Latin School
Chelmsford H.S.
David Prouty H.S.
Dexter School
Doherty Memorial H.S.
Essex Co. Ag. & Technical HS
Franklin Field/Franklin Hill Healthy B
Gtr New Bedford Reg. Voc-Tech HS
Greenfield H.S.
Hamilton-Wenham Regional H.S.
Hampshire Regional H.S.
H.S. of Science and Technology
Hoosac Valley H.S.
Hopkinton H.S.
Lawrence Academy
Leicester H.S.
Lexington H.S.
Millbury Junior Senior H.S.
Minuteman Regional H.S.
Nauset Regional H.S.
Newburyport H.S.
Newton North H.S.
Nipmuc Regional H.S.
Norcross Wildlife/Monson H.S.
North Attleboro H.S.
North Quincy H.S.
Northampton H.S.
Northbridge H.S.
Old Rochester Regional H.S.
Oliver Ames H.S.
Pembroke H.S.
Pioneer Valley Performing Arts Chtr
Provincetown H.S.
Quabbin Regional H.S.
R. C. Mahar Regional School
Somerset H.S.
South Hadley H.S.
Southfield School
Springfield Central H.S.
Sutton H.S.
Taconic H.S.
Tahanto Regional H.S.
Upper Cape Technical School
Urban Science Academy
Uxbridge H.S.
Waltham H.S.
Weston H.S.
Westport Community Schools
Weymouth H.S.
Willow Hill School

Has reading this article been useful? Please use our forum for any comments: energyteachers.org/forum